Blocking someone on WhatsApp is a relatively easy process. It’s done by opening the contact in question, clicking “Block” and then confirming that you want to block them. This is very different from blocking someone on Facebook or Twitter, which can be more complicated. There are also no notifications when someone blocks you on WhatsApp; there’s no way of knowing if they blocked you until the next time they send an update. So how do you know if someone has blocked you? Here are some signs…
You can’t see them online
You can’t see them online If you’ve checked your WhatsApp contacts and someone is showing as being online, but they still don’t respond to your messages even though their last seen was fairly recent, there’s a chance that they have blocked you. The same applies if they are offline, but the phone signal shows that it isn’t switched off.You can also read Facebook 101: How to Check Who Blocked You in Seconds .
You can’t see any of their phone activities
You can’t see any of their phone activities It’s only possible to send WhatsApp messages when you have an active internet connection such as a mobile signal or Wi-Fi, for example. If you’re finding that someone isn’t responding to your messages and they should be online, try checking the phone signal strength by placing another call or downloading a Wi-Fi app. This will tell you if there is an active internet connection, which means that it’s possible they have blocked you on WhatsApp or are simply ignoring your messages.
They don’t reply to your replies
They don’t reply to your replies Sometimes when someone blocks you on WhatsApp, they will still reply to some of your messages even though they aren’t replying to all of them. If you know that they have seen your messages but aren’t replying, try sending a “Did you get my last message?” text to see if they reply. If they don’t, it’s a pretty clear sign that they have blocked you on WhatsApp or are simply ignoring your messages.
You can still see the last active time
You can still see the last active time If someone has blocked you, it’s possible to find out if they have done so by checking the last active time on their phone. As well as showing when someone was online, WhatsApp now shows when a user has been inactive for too long as well as the last seen timestamp. This is normally about an hour or two after the last message was sent or received, but if you can’t see anything then there’s a good chance they have blocked you.
WhatsApp is not currently available
They reply to your e-mails If someone tries to contact you via WhatsApp and gets an error message saying something like “WhatsApp is not currently available” or “I’m not receiving messages because I don’t have WhatsApp installed,” your account is blocked. If they contact you via e-mail, text or another messaging app instead, this usually means that they have blocked you on WhatsApp.
It’s also possible that the person in question has simply uninstalled WhatsApp without blocking you, but if any of these messages are received around the same time as being unable to contact them via WhatsApp, it’s a good sign that they have blocked you. Even if all of these signs sound familiar and you think someone has blocked you, there is still a chance that they haven’t. For example, the phone signal could show an active internet connection because their housemate or child was using their phone to check Facebook or surf the internet. Alternatively, they might have switched their phone off and forgotten to log out of WhatsApp before doing so. If you think someone has blocked you but none of these signs apply, check out our guide on how to tell if someone is ignoring your messages for further advice.